Board of Directors

James Grunwald

Executive Director of AGVA, advisory board member

Dr. Jim Grunwald has been involved with AGVA from its beginning and serves as the executive director, overseeing its day-to-day operations.

He is an Educational Technology professor emeritus and teaches in the Martin Luther College online graduate program. He has been involved with online teaching, course development,  course management, and instructor training since 2000.

David Rust

Superintendent/Principal of AGVA, advisory board member

Mr. David Rust joined AGVA in 2022 as superintendent and principal, working primarily with curriculum, instructors, and families. Before coming to AGVA, Dave served as principal of an elementary school in the Milwaukee, WI, area. 

Joshua Schoeneck

Board of Directors Chairman -

Joshua Schoeneck was elected as a member of the Board of Directors in 2020 and became vice-chairman in 2022. 

He serves as an instructor, registrar, and Director of Technology at Kettle Moraine Lutheran High School in Jackson, WI.

He also teaches the AP Computer Science A and Computer Graphics courses for AGVA.

Scott Sievert

Board of Directors Vice-Chairman-

Scott Sievert serves AGVA as a member of the Board of Directors, first elected in 2020.

He serves as the high school Academic Dean at Divine Savior Academy in Doral, FL.

Paul Patterson

Board of Directors Secretary - 

Mr. Paul Patterson began serving on the AGVA Board of Directors in 2020 as a representative from the WELS Commission on Lutheran Schools (CLS). At the CLS he serves as the associate director and oversees the WELS School Accreditation (WELSSA) program.

Peter Baganz

Board of Directors Treasurer -

Prof. Peter Baganz served on the AGVA Board of Directors as treasurer from 2012-2018. In 2021 he was invited to rejoin the board and serve as vice-chairman. In 2022 he transitioned to the position of treasurer.

Peter is a Professor of History at Martin Luther College in New Ulm, MN. 

He has taught the Web Page Design, AP U.S. History, and Modern West courses for AGVA.

Bradley Nehls

Board of Directors - 

Mr. Bradely Nehls was elected to the AGVA Board of Directors in 2022 as a high school representative. 

Bradley is a teacher and registrar at Minnesota Valley Lutheran high school, New Ulm, MN. 

Daniel Nolte

Board of Directors - 

Mr. Daniel Nolte was elected to the board of directors as our AGVA partner high school representative in 2023. 

Daniel currently serves as Technology Director, PLTW Computer Science teacher, and VEX robotics coach at Shoreland Lutheran High School in Kenosha, WI.

Kurt Gosdeck

Board of Directors - 

Kurt Gosdeck was elected as a member of the Board of Directors in 2023 as a representative for AGVA partner elementary schools.

Kurt serves as assistant principal and director of technology at St. Mark Lutheran School in Green Bay, WI.

Kurt also teacher the Computer Applications course for AGVA.

Evan Kolander

Board of Directors - 

Evan Kolander was elected as a member of the Board of Directors in 2023 as a representative for AGVA partner high schools.

Evan teaches history courses at Evergreen Lutheran High School. 

Evan also teaches the World History, U.S. History, and AP U.S. History courses for AGVA.